Today is a win!!

Today I took affirmative action.
I took steps.

After the diabetes type 2 diagnosis a month ago, I was left with a void of information and a bit of paper from the doctor with an email address on it for “some people who can help”.

I made an appointment to see the people who can help me with diet and exercise. (God forbid, that dreadful combination!)

Today, I went to see him and got help. Actual help. Even taking into account all my extenuating circumstances!

I have a PLN.

I have a pedometer, a food diary, a step plan… Also a book of tickets to get me into aquaerobics for a quid.  (And I’m going to get orientation at the swim centre so the staff know me, even offered to get tokens so hubby can join me!)

Someone who is actually concerned.

I am also going to a 6 week CBT course to help with my anxiety (which ways rears its ugly head). Just need to check that out with occupational health as its in work time, but I’m sure it will be fine.

and….Turns out my food intake is actually quite good, now I have cut out the bags of sweets (argh!!!). I have an idea of what I can still eat, which is what I wanted!!

A little bit of information goes a long way.

I feel a bit more in control, in charge of my destiny rather than a bunch of diagnosis thrown together!!!

So much so that I got the bus home after the appointment, got in and made a stew which will sit and cook for four hours.

Everything is groovy!
🙂

Leave a Reply

